“The scariest thing about distance is you don`t know whether they will miss you or forget about you.”

So it has gone from blog posts weekly because I am bored to having to force myself to remember to write one because I have got that many things going on. Progress made I guess.

Had my first little wekend away for the Haloween festivities with my friend Carla, we headed up to Viña del Mar on the coast after work on the Thursday night. Stayed in an AMAZING hostel called Reñaca Beach Hostel…beds were nicer than the one I am paying an arm and a leg for back in Santiago. To be honest the majority of the weekend consisted of getting pissed in various places as it was only sunny enough to sunbathe on the Saturday. We had a good few days, hitting some massive Haloween party on the friday. Every year I tell myself I am going to make an effort and buy proper make up and follow the you tube blogs to accomplish a PROPER scary face…and every year I look like a dickhead. This one was no different. We spent the whole day of the 31st hunting down face paint with a view to drawing a face of “El Dia de los Muertes” and we finally managed to but some in a market just outside of one of the main shopping centres.  We looked fucking stupid. It didnt even go on our face properly, I just looked like I hadn`t washed my face for a few weeks. We settled for a small stich around our mouths to resemble some sort of scary doll. Disssastre.

I felt that weekend I had made a bit of a breakthrough, spending the whole weekend functioning in Spanish, although it was only natural for me to shout “What are you doing you dirty cunt, I will batter you” when men were getting a bit too touchy-feely.

So many weeks have passed, although I still have seven months ahead. Bit mad really, I am still counting down the days I will be back for the end of exams parties in Sheffield. I read something the other day that really summed up the two biggest worries you have when you go away; it read:

“The scariest thing about distance is you don`t know whether they will miss you or forget about you.”

Obviously one of the first people that springs to mind is Pippa, I was worried about leaving her and missing her loads, but on the flipside I was more worried about her moving on and loving life solo. Its strange because although I am the one that has gone, it must be as equally hard for her because I am not there when stupid stuff happens to laugh, cry or whatever. And although she definitely sounds like my lover at the moment, she is indeed just my best friend who I miss dearly….hehe.

As well as this, I have my overpowering FOMO issue, which I have to say is starting to get better(ish), even though I still find it really hard to skype the sheffield family and not get nostalgic afterwards. The best way to deal with it is to ignore a lot of things on social media, including SUNC Name and Shame which is SO hard not to get involved in.

I have also moved HOUSE, now I live with a girl called Ignacia and her dog Castaña, which is such a comfort. Room is bigger, I walk to work, although have temporarily packed the gym in which needs sorting or I will be rolling home. I guess I am getting more settled because my stomach isnt playing up…unless I go a bit mental on the fried food which I have to say CAN happen on occasion….funny though because I have realised how annoying I must have been in England: when I mention my stomach here all my friends just shout “WE KNOWWWW”…..I must be like a broken record……

My aim is to post more on here, hopefully about more profound/uni type things like the social extremes or the gypo that spat and squirted boobie milk on my money before mashing into little pieces and smiling. Evil bastard. But I will save that for the next little entry on here!

Leave a comment