Vendedora de Ropa

These weeks are going by so fast, I feel like I blink and its Friday. Cannot hack the heat, I am an english bird that needs cold. Never thought I`d say it, but I miss my wooly jumpers. Don`t get me wrong, its gorgeous on a Sunday afternoon when I can lie on the roof terrace, but not whilst I have to wear jeans and socks and trainers in work. I am MELTING. Why didn`t someone put level 5 on the fucking fan setting? I can blow harder than the fucking fan.

I`ve been on a few dates, which is hysterical because I don`t think I`ve been on a date in about 3 years. Makes me feel a bit sick actually, I rather they told me I`d tucked my skirt into my knickers than that I have `beautifuI eyes`. Bleurghhh – affection. It`s really interesting to see the differences between the dating scene here and in England, its safe to say we definitely have a more liberal take on `dating`. I mean, ROAR on a wednesday night in Sheffield for one. Picking up your slice in Balti King after sharing a peshwari naan and trying to get rid of he/she/them before your 11am on Thursday morning. I think if that happened here someone would be sent to a convent.

In comparison to England where no one `cares` about the person they are involved with because `they arent together`- not only has a fundamental sexual health flaw, but also never seems to work because someone usually gets hurt during this intense struggle to find the ultimate person that cares the least. However, I seem to currently be living in the other extreme, where it is apparently ok to hold hands the first time you go out together or openly mount each other in broad daylight in the park. Vile behaviour. This brings me on nicely to the topic of independence amongst young people: it pretty much doesnt exist. People dont believe me when I tell them I am 21, because it is unbelievable that I am here alone at such a young age. It is quite normal to still be living with parents at 25/26, a factor that is influenced by how close families are here and also the average working wage – a quarter of that of England.

Work -such an improvement. I have tasks to do, like emailing, stock control, currently working with the IT guy to get an online shop up and running and sometimes….ENGLISH people come into the shop and I have to TRANSLATE. oh hello I`m now an asset. Until a Brazilian couple came in the other day and I had to translate Portuguese – Spanish, everything obviously fell to shit and they were being sold an exhaust pipe instead of a handlebar. But all in all, I am starting to get really excited about this job and feel like I am making an impact in the company, ie helping with things as opposed to making vocab post it notes all day because I haven`t got a clue what is going on. The other day I even forgot how to say a word in English and this really panicked me – would be a bit of a disaster if instead of becoming fluent in Spanish, the Spanish just subsituted the bloody English.

And I`ve joined a GROUP. It`s called language and friends. And we meet every Wednesday night, changing languages every 20 minutes, which is really really helping me to become accustomed to the constant brain translation. And I made FRIENDS. Me and luce have managed to get two more girls on the Daddy Yankee train, I`ve even organised a post lash sleepover in mine….which when I look at from the outside is the most gimp I can be, but I have to be gimp to make friends, put myself out there. I can`t take hangover days alone, I am a needy, only child.

Oh and only ONE MORE SLEEP until Daddy Yankee….every single person I tell laughs at me. And then I get a confused face because they didnt have me down as a chavvy bird, generalisation known as `Flighter` here (chav). But  I dont CARE because I get to shake my lolas to the father of reggaeton tomorrow night after a bottle of pisco and before my epic girly sleepover.

So, to conclude, general emotions are high, feeling good about the progress I am making, even though it is slow. Also need to stop giving my number out to anyone that asks for it, I seem to be attracting the wrong attention being over friendly. Dickhead.

Leave a comment